Reviews

As a sommelier it is also my job as well to create a relaxing and enjoyable atmosphere. I want everybody to have the best Wine and Food experience ever in Italy! 

Read here some of my reviews about the Wine and Food experience in Montepulciano.

October 6, 2019

Sylvia was very helpful prior to the experience with planning, communication. She was very personable, friendly, and knowledgeable. I would recommend this experience to everyone!!!

Drew (Pennsylvania)

October 1st 2019

We loved our time with Sylvia learning about the Gattavecchi Vino Nobile wines and having a very personal experience with the wine makers. Sylvia was very knowledgeable, friendly and patient with our whole family. The lunch was delicious and we were treated to some Spumante to celebrate our birthdays! Thank you!!

Louise (New York)

Great day!!

Caroline (New York)

September 29, 2019

Great experience! Sylvia has vast knowledge about wine and vineyards. She shared some history about Montepulciano itself and their wine appellation. Served wine is of high quality and food was good. Wine cellars are fun to see. Overall recommendable.

Tim (Holland)

September 20, 2019

It was a fantastic experience. The atmosphere, wine and food were superb. Sylvia is a wonderful and very kind host. Strongly recommended!

Patryk (Poland)

September 8, 2019

This was the highlight of our honeymoon! It ended up just being myself and my husband on the tour, as the rest of our group didn’t show up. Sylvia and the team at Gattavecchi went above and beyond for us to make the day special. Also, Montepulciano is just breathtaking. If you are debating on stopping here, DO IT! 🙂 We 110% recommend! Thank you Sylvia!

Sara (Calgary, Canada)

September 7, 2019

Voor de Piazza Grande werden wij doo Sylvia verwelkomd in Montepulciano waar zij in het kort over de geschiedenis vertelde en het ontstaan van de beroemde wijn Vino Nobile di Montepulciano. Hierna liepen wij naar de wijnkelder van de familie Gattavecchi waar Sylvia ons een rondleiding gaf en verteld over het proces van wijn maken. Indrukwekkend allemaal om te zien. Uiteraard mochten wij deze mooie wijnen ook proeven. Heerlijk buiten op het terras kregen wij diverse lekkere wijnen met een mooie tapwasplank vol heerlijkheden. 

Door de kennis en het enthousiaste verhaal van Sylvia werd dit een onvergetelijke dag. Mocht je nog een vakantiebestemming zoeken, ga dan zeker langs Montepulciano en boek bij Sylvia de Wine and Food experience! Sylvia, dank voor de leuke middag!

Groetjes Carlo en Monique, Dick en Simone

August 30, 2019

We had such a wonderful time with Sylvia and the experiences she laid out for us.  The winery, food, and walking tour of Montepulciano set the mood for a perfect weekend in Tuscany.  We were so pleased with Sylvia’s attentive style and deep appreciation for the land and its people that we asked for recommendations other places to explore. To our delight, she joined us in Montalcino for another incredible food and wine experience with this neighboring city.  Sylvia’s passion for her work shows in how she talks about wines and the region, and in the good-hearted vineyard families she chooses to work with.  This all combines to create a memorable experience you will cherish for a lifetime.

David (Tartu, Estonia)

August 23, 2019

It was a nice tour. We really enjoyed the lunch and we had a lovely time with the other group members. The wine was very good and made us all very joyfull. 🙂 Sylvia did an excellent job in choosing the restaurant and she acted like a very good host.

Anda (Romania)

August 16, 2019

An amazing experience from start to finish. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this experience. Sylvia is welcoming and knowledgeable and above all, a fantastic and friendly guide. This made our trip!

Alex (UK)

August 9, 2019

Such a great little wine and food experience. Sylvia is wonderful and know a lot about wine in the region & beyond. Nice to have lunch all together and talk about life in montepulciano. Would recommend this experience to anyone traveling to this part of Tuscany.

Cordelia (Australia)

August 7, 2019

Sylvia greeted us with a smile. She was warm and make arrangements for another place since the winery we were suppose to go to was closed. She had very prompt communication and shared and explained the food to us. It was a great experience.

Ray (California)

Wine and Food experience

August 2, 2019

We had a great time with Sylvia! After a brief introduction into the city of Montepulciano, we went to visit the wine cellars. The tasting was perfect: superb food, great wine and a nice atmosphere. We even had a small chat with two of the bosses of the winery, who told us many interesting things about their jobs. Great value for money! 

Matthias (Münster, Germany)

Wine and Food experience
July 27, 2019

Sylvia war eine tolle Gastgeberin. Sie ist mit viel Leidenschaft bei der Sache und das bringt sie auch gut rüber. Wir erfuhren viele Details über die Stadt und die Umgebung. Die Verkostung samt Essen war ein einmaliges Erlebnis mit tollem Ambiente. Den Großteil erklärt uns Sylvia auf deutsch. Sehr empfehlenswert!

Barbara (Vienna, Austria)

July 25, 2019

This is really worthwhile and beats your average winetasting. Good company and a good opportunity to engage with other guests. A sit down meal and a good taste of a variety of wines. Definitely recommended. Not to be missed.

Julian Ankersmit (Brighton, England)

July 25, 2019

It was more than just a wine tasting experience, and also more than food and wine experience combined. Both were wonderful and authentic. Silvia made it special. She made sure we got an introduction to a Cru vine by one of the wine Yard owners. She described history of this wine house and also of the area. And Silvia showed a very classy cafe afterwards, with tasty deserts and breathtaking view. Amazing experience, we had a wonderful time in a pleasant company.

Emil and Olga (Copenhagen, Denmark)

Caffè Poliziano
Wine and Food experience
July 23, 2019

Sylvia was a great host and tour guide. We learned a lot, not only about the wine in the region, but some history of Montepulciano. The meal was delicious and we luckily got to meet the winemaker as well! Highly recommend this experience when in Montepulciano.

Nemanja Zivkovic (Toronto, Canada)

Wine and Food experience
July 20, 2019

Hele bijzondere ervaring! Sylvia heeft enorm veel kennis, we hebben heel veel geleerd, daarnaast was het een hele gezellige middag. Veel gelachen en gekletst. Absoluut een aanrader. Dank Sylvia!

Anna en Hidde (Amsterdam)

July 19, 2019

It was a real taste of Italian food and wine experience. Great food, perfect Montepulciano wine and fanstastic host – Sylvia – 100% dedicated to her role. It was a real pleasure to spend this time with Sylvia to know a little bit a about the history of Montepulciano, wine production and Italian culture. I strongly recommend!

Karolina (Poland)

Wine and Food experience
June 29, 2019

Sylvia is an exceptional guide who understands the wines as she recently received he sommelier certification. She was very patient with us and allowed us to direct much of the conversation.

Jonathan (California)

July 16, 2019

The food and wine experience hosted by Sylvia was just perfect. Knowledge shared about Montepulciano, the wine and the food made the experience all the more rich. Sylvia is knowledgeable and attentive to the guests. Highly recommend and is exceedingly good value for money. Thank you Sylvia!

Mike (Belgium)

June 15, 2019

This was one of the best experiences we have ever had! Sylvia was SO passionate and knowledgeable and we were treated like royalty and felt so special. She went over and beyond to make this experience fantastic. I can not recommend this experience enough. We were spoiled with fantastic wine and extraordinary food from the highest quality. If you are in Montepulciano this the the one experience that is a MUST DO!

Wandi (South Africa)

July 13, 2019

We loved our tour with Sylvia! The wines were excellent and the food was superb. We were treated so well by the winery and by Sylvia! Highly recommend!

Leanna (Houston)

Wine and Food experience
June 22, 2019

Our afternoon with Sylvia was wonderful! She was very personable, full of information and truly want everyone to have a great experience! It was wonderful meeting people from other states/countries. The wine was wonderful, Jon was a great host and well as his wife! We had such an amazing time, we will be back again!

Rachel (Nevada)

Wine and Food experience
June 13, 2019
Wine and Food experience

It was a pleasure to meet Sylvia and learn more about the wine from Montepulciano. We felt that Sylvia is passionate about her work and her country of adoption. We went to the winery and had the chance to meet a part of the family owning it, all were very welcoming ! My partner and I are very grateful to Sylvia for that experience and the time she spent with us, she was the perfect guide.

Anne (Toulouse, France)

June 8, 2019

Sylvia is amazing! My friends and I had the best time at this event. She is very knowledgeable and passionate about wine and gave us a wonderful experience. The food and wine is amazing, highly recommend!

Annabelle (Michigan, United States)

I had a great experience with Sylvia. She was very knowledgable and sweet. She walked us around and gave us suggestions on what we could do outside of the experience. She’s arranged for us to meet with the owners of the winery and we took some pictures altogether. It was an amazing experience that I wouldn’t exchange for anything. Highly recommend.

Izzy (Michigan, United States)

June 6, 2019

If you love Italian food, wine and culture, you should definitely go on this experience with Sylvia. This very friendly Dutch-Italian lady knows a lot about Montepulciano and maybe even more about its wonderful wine: Vino Nobile di Montelpulciano. We enjoyed half a day with Sylvia at the welcoming Gattavecchi-winefamily and their restaurant + winecellar. We tasted a generous(!) amount of their wines, accompanied with delicious cold cuts, cheese and pasta. We would highly reccomend this experience.

@Sylvia: veel dank en tot ziens!

Madelon en Jules (Amsterdam, Nederland)

Wine and Food experience
May 31, 2019
Wine and Food experience

Sylvia has a great passion for Italy and its wine. She takes you through a well balanced mixture of sightseeing, food and wine tasting. You start in one of the most amazing squares in the world (sunny in our case), you will descend in a deep and cool Etruscan tomb. And finally you will taste delicious Tuscan food in a former monastery of XIII century. Of course the highlight is the Vino Nobile di Montepulciano.

Alberto (Brussels, Belgium)

A wonderful experience learning about the area and the wines. It was interesting to try the local Montepulciano wines and area cuisine. I especially enjoyed meeting the fellow travelers and sharing stories. Thank you, Sylvia. You are a charming and knowledgeable host!

Lori California, United States

May 28, 2019

An amazing experience that I can’t recommend enough. Whether you enjoy wine, history or just spending time with great people, this experience has it all. Sylvia’s beauty and charm is only surpassed by her love and knowledge of wine and the gifted way in which she shares it. She delighted us with tales of local history and made us feel welcome. More like spending time with a lost family member than meeting her for the first time. The wine was superb, the pasta and cheese excellent, everyone should experience this if they visit Montepulciano…you won’t regret it.

Lee (Pennsylvania, United States)

May 25, 2019

We will be back to Montepulciano and hire Sylvia very soon, we had a wonderful experience and want to share this with others!

Amy (Elmhurst, Illinois, United States)

Wine and Food experience
May 23, 2019

Sylvia was great and it was a really fun experience to meet the owners of the winery and the other guests in our group. A great value too! Favoloso!

Sylvia è stata fantastica ed è stata un’esperienza davvero divertente incontrare i proprietari della cantina e gli altri ospiti del nostro gruppo. Un grande valore anche!

Lori (Washington, USA)

May 23, 2019

This was a great experience in Montepulcio. Sylvia guided us to a wonderful family winery where we experienced a generous wine tasting and a fabulous meal with our new friends. Thank you Sylvia!

Anita (Oregon)

April 25, 2019

Bella esperienza, ottimo vino, consiglio assolutamente!!! Federica (Genova, Italy)

April 25, 2019

Splendid afternoon! Sylvia is very charming and knowledgeable. She went out of her way to accommodate us. Shelley (New York, USA)

Wine and Food experience
April 25, 2019

Excellent experience! Peter (New Jersey, USA)

Vino Nobile di Montepulciano Riserva
Wine and Food experience
March 30, 2019

Sylvia gave us a terrific time in Montepulciano from the time we met by the ancient town water well, talking through some local history and a short walk to one of the oldest vintners in Montepulciano.

We visited the underground cellars and below this an Etruscan tomb room. We met the very friendly owner of the winery and his family, had a delicious lunch accompanied by vin noble tastings.

We needed a siesta by the time we were finished! Sylvia is a super simpatico and positive person who is happy to discuss any topic – wine and food related or just if you are curious about something Tuscan or Italian. Strongly recommended!

Tim (Wellington, New Sealand)

Wine and Food experience
October 20, 2018

Zeker 5 sterren. Begin september een hele leuke dag gehad met Sylvia! Eerst bij San Biagio een aperitief en vervolgens een rondleiding en proeverij gehad bij Gattavecchi. Helemaal fantastisch, iedereen heeft genoten. En niet geheel heel onbelangrijk, we gingen met een lading super mooie wijnen naar huis waar we nu nog steeds van genieten! Een wijnproeverij met Sylvia is zeker een aanrader.

Kim (Rotterdam, Nederland)

October 22, 2018

We hebben op 18 oktober een wijnproeverij gehad met 10 personen bij wijnhuis Gattavecchi. Eerst uitleg over de omgeving en de geschiedenis van de druiven en de wijnen en daarna een rondleiding in de kelder. Vervolgens in een schitterende ruimte mooie wijnen geproefd en lekker gegeten. Italiaanser dan dit wordt het niet! Hartstikke leuke beleving die ik iedereen kan aanraden. We waren overigens met 5 kinderen waar ook goed voor gezorgd werd en die hebben ook genoten.

Koen (Uden, Nederland)

wijnproeverij Cantina Gattavecchi
Wine and Food experience
September 5, 2018

Sylvia organized a wine tasting tour at the Gattavecchi winery in September. We started with a white wine, Vernaccia di San Gimignano on the terrace. Then walked to the wine cellar and had a nice tour through the authentic wine cellar including a visit of the Etruscan Tomb. Then moved on for a delicious meal with 2 different red wines and as dessert a vin santo and grappa.

Four boxes of wine returned with us to the Netherlands. No regrets, because we have already ordered new Vernaccia di San Gimignano at Sylvia. Everything was and will be arranged down to the last detail.

Thank you Sylvia!

Karlijn

Top